I have achieved the impossible… make that WE…

I now have a clean garage.  There’s a giant dumpster packed to the gills sitting outside my house to show for it.  There’s also about 10 items on Craigslist too, but that’s just gravy compared to the sheer glee of walking into a garage (walking!  not sidling, not stepping over things, on things, in things, you get the picture) and knowing what is in every box we chose to keep now residing on our newly assembled heavy duty shelving.  It really is a Christmas Miracle.

This is the backstory- we moved into this place nearly 8 years ago in a hurry.  Lots of stuff we didn’t know what to do with, so stuff just wound up in the garage.  Boxes we never unpacked (you should see some of the clothes I found… ewwww!), some things were believed to be lost, and the space just became overtaken by STUFF.

We tried to clean it out a few times, even ordered the dumpster once, and made a little progress.  Not enough progress to make it last, though.  It always reverted to its prior state of insanity.  It got to the point that no one wanted to go in the garage for anything anymore.  I myself had managed to avoid it for weeks until the need to get wrapping paper came up last week.  I decided to take action, and used Angie’s List to hire an organizer.  I found Diane Luck, and she agreed to fit me in to her busy schedule- very much in demand- and come do my garage sight unseen.  I told her the whole family was going to participate, including my teen daughters who normally run the other way when stuff like this comes up.  I gave everyone plenty of notice about the date we’d be getting it done, and no one asked me to postpone or cancel.

I guess they were as fed up as I was.

Diane said we could get it done in one day, and I was skeptical to say the least.  She was wrong.  We actually did it in SIX HOURS!!  Six hours of concerted effort on everyone’s part, four trips to Goodwill and a huge dumpster filled to the brim, and I now have what I consider to be the cleanest garage I’ve ever had in my lifetime.   My husband was so thrilled by the end of the day, he nearly shed a tear.  He did go to bed early, and I think I might actually follow him.  For tonight, my insomnia is cured.

And, it will get cleaner from here.  Once the Craigslist items are sold, or picked up for free as a last resort, and the items set aside for office stuff are moved to a soon-to-be leased office, there will be even more room- enough to park a car!  With the doors fully open on both sides!  And we don’t drive small cars!

I think the key was having hired someone to come out.  It didn’t cost me nearly as much as you’d think- less than $300- but having someone come out and get in there with us (she’s a machine folks, worked nonstop!) made all the difference.  We couldn’t just postpone- we’d made real arrangements and spent money- and there was no looking back.  We actually swept the floor of the garage.  There was enough floor to sweep!  Enough floor for my youngest to ride her old scooter in circles in the garage!   And we all did it together, as a family.  How wonderful it was- a cold, windy day- they didn’t complain or lobby to quit.  I love my family.
A clean garage… it’s a thing to behold.   Almost as great as the teamwork it took to make it happen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

